HOWTO: moving Time Machine data to new hard disk

less than 1 minute read

If you are using Time Machine feature in OSX maybe you need to move data from you hard disk to a new one avoiding to lose it. There is no official way to do this, but with some trick you can do it easily. Follow these steps:

  1. Make sure both drives (could be also a remote hard disk) are connected;
  2. Launch “Disk Utility”
  3. In the left column, click on one drive name (NOTE: main drive icon!)
  4. At the right side click on “restore” tab (the last one)
  5. From the left, click and drag the icon of the older hard drive to “source” field
  6. Repeat step 5 with the new drive dragging it into “destination” field
  7. Best choice is to set “Erase Destination”
  8. Click “Restore”
  9. Realax for some hours (for 120 GB I waited 5 hours).

When the process finishes, new drive will have the same name of the old one. Rename old drive or give a new name to new drive. Once you changed the name open Time Machine settings and choose new drive.

That’s it :)

If you have any trouble, let me know commenting this post.

Leave a Comment